outdoors, Parenting, Slightly random, YL promotions

What I’ve Been Up To

December is a pretty busy month for many people, the Bouchers included. We have multiple family birthdays (one of us, and several relatives) and Christmas (and all of the associated preparations). I tend to knit like a fiend during the fall and December, and since going gluten-free, I have developed the habit of testing recipes at least once before I share them with people, so the kitchen has been very busy. Lots of dish washing. What else have I been up to? Reading to the boys and taking walks outside.

We got out a few Christmas books recently and have been enjoying them very much, though they’re due back soon. Our library is great, so I’m sure we will find more goodies when we return them. I like to prepare for a library visit by making myself a list of what I want to look for, so I can do it kind of quickly while Big Brother plays with puzzles or reads in the children’s nook. Here are some shots of our current selection.

I really appreciated the interesting notes and educational tidbits. Big Brother – who loves to learn – seemed interested in them as well. His favorite seems to be the Twelve Days Of Christmas; partially because I sing as we read it, and partially because the illustrations are not only beautifully detailed, they also have the twelve gifts hidden in each picture. We enjoy finding each gift and have searched through it together several times. The Third Gift is about Myrrh, and being an essential oil lover, I found this to be a great way to include teaching about oils with our reading fun! I got out my Essence of the Season collection and let him smell the Frankincence and Myrrh oils and see the resins. We talked about what hard work it must be to learn how to tell when the trees are ready and to harvest by hand the traditional way, which is how Young Living does it.

We have been taking advantage of the un-snowy weather while we can and enjoying the local walking/biking trail, often accompanied by our sweet upstairs neighbors. I wear Little Brother in our Ergobaby most of the time, our woven wrap sometimes. As it’s gotten colder, I found that I really need a babywearing coat. I had mentioned it to hubby before, but hadn’t actually gotten one – until now. It just came in today and while we did try it on to check the fit, I haven’t gotten to test it on an actual walk or outing yet. I will be posting about it after I do, because I’m thrilled so far by the quality and want to share about it once it’s been out and about a little. It was a combined Christmas/birthday gift for me, and I am so appreciative. No more clumsy blanket improvs or overlayering for Little Brother!

While I haven’t been posting here, I have done quick Instagram posts. You can find me there @makewayforbouchers. I’m also updating the Join Me tab here on the blog tonight, so hop over there and see what’s new!

Leave a Reply

