around the home

Non-toxic laundry day

If you had told my parents when I was a teenager that I would one day enjoy doing housework, they would likely have laughed at you. But somewhere in my twenties, I began enjoying it…even ironing. Especially since becoming a mother, I’ve found a sort of catharsis in keeping our home and nurturing my family. Perhaps one day I’ll write about KonMari, but I have only just begun to implement it (having discovered it quite recently), so that post will have to wait.

While Big Brother was at the park for the second time yesterday with Daddy, and while Little Brother napped, I got our laundry sorted and done. I am a bit particular about how the laundry is done, and what it’s done with. I like to separate into four loads because the machines in our apartment work such that I can split one dryer load between two washes if I time it all just right. It took me a while to find a “natural” detergent that I liked (that was the unscented organic “365” brand by Whole Foods), and I have been using vinegar as a fabric softener for a long time. Wool dryer balls are also wonderful. The laundry routine was alright. But I wanted to scent our clothes, and sometimes things still weren’t coming out clean enough for my liking (I’m looking at you, Hubby’s work clothes).

I started to add a capful of Thieves Household Cleaner (Young Living) and some essential oils to my detergent, which worked but was a little finicky for me to be bothering with while Big Brother was a curious 2-year-old, getting into mischief at every opportunity. When the Thieves line expanded and I suddenly had a liquid laundry detergent that was up to my (admittedly high) standards and smelled good, I was thrilled. And when it’s all in the dryer…I like to add a few drops of essential oil close to the end of the cycle for a lovely scent.

b02f08127b5f0f6a383573062f3ad7f1

Check out the Young Living blog to see why this soap is seriously amazing. For those of you who enjoy DIY, here’s a recipe a friend recently shared with me…I am excited to try a batch of this as well, because it’s nice to change things up once in a while. The best thing about this recipe is it’s a liquid but doesn’t require any solid ingredients to be grated or melted.

  • You will need: 2 cups of hot water, 1 cup of baking soda, 1/3 cup of salt, 1 cup of Dr. Bronner’s castle soap (Optional: 1-3 caps of Thieves Household Cleaner, 10 drops of your choice of Young Living essential oils)
  • Instructions: Combine in a gallon-sized jug (add water first to reduce sudsing).
  • Add about 1/2 cup to your HE washer…that’s it!

Today is grocery shopping day, and Big Brother is with grandparents for the day, so I will be able to get that done rather faster than usual! (It’s the little details that pep you up sometimes, right?)

Until next time…try this recipe and take a nice deep whiff of that clean smell afterward, without worrying about breathing in toxic chemicals!

Leave a Reply

