natural health, supplements

My Evening Routine

I posted on Instagram recently about my orange glasses. (Check out my Instagram widget to the right or find me under the name makewayforbouchers.) I got them inexpensively on Amazon and highly encourage you to try it also! So why do I wear orange glasses at night? I value sleep. I value hormonal balance. I do not value what others think of me over the previous two things. It also gives my husband a chance to tease me, which given his sense of humor is always fun – when I put them on, he calls me Bono.

The short story is that electronics emit a lot of blue light (so does the sun, but you want that during the day), so it’s very important to protect yourself from those blue rays before bed if you want your body to produce enough melatonin for quality sleep. Why not just take a melatonin supplement? Because it’s a hormone, but not a sleep-inducing one; it helps to regulate your circadian rhythm, but like any hormone therapy (because that’s what you’re doing by taking it), it can really disrupt your body’s natural ability to produce that hormone. Also, melatonin is produced by your body when it is in the dark, so blocking the blue lights will help tremendously without any of the side-effects you can experience while using melatonin. The glasses are inexpensive. They’re worth a try, no?

What else is pictured in that Instagram post? A few supplements I do enjoy: Natural Calm magnesium powder (most Americans are actually deficient in magnesium due to the lovely standard American diet and lifestyle) has a very mild taste and is easy to take; just stir some into a glass of water and drink it.

Sulfurzyme is a Young Living supplement; here’s their official description “Sulfurzyme® combines wolfberry with MSM, a naturally occurring organic form of dietary sulfur needed by our bodies every day to maintain the structure of proteins, protect cells and cell membranes, replenish the connections between cells, and preserve the molecular framework of connective tissue.* MSM also supports the immune system, the liver, circulation, and proper intestinal function and works to scavenge free radicals.* Wolfberries contain minerals and coenzymes that support the assimilation and metabolism of sulfur.” I don’t take this every night, but I do keep it around for when I’m feeling a bit taxed. With Hashimoto’s, I need to be pretty vigilant about paying attention to my body’s cues.

Alkalime, another wonderful Young Living supplement.”AlkaLime® is a precisely-balanced alkaline mineral complex formulated to neutralize acidity and maintain desirable pH levels in the body. Infused with lemon and lime essential oils and organic whole lemon powder, AlkaLime also features enhanced effervescence and biochemic cell salts for increased effectiveness. A balanced pH is thought to play an important role in maintaining overall health and vigor.” I love the flavor, and it’s exactly what I was looking for when I decided to work on pH balance. The bottle says to take it an hour before meals or going to bed, and I opt to take it in the evening.

Lavender and Cedarwood essential oils. I adore these for nighttime, and they go into my bedroom diffuser. Some people like to use the vitaflex points on their feet (big toes) if they don’t like the scent of Cedarwood. Not pictured are a couple of other great essential oil blends I keep on hand; Tranquil and RutaVaLa roll-ons. Big Brother loves Tranquil and really enjoys having it applied to his toes and wrists.

I put on my orange glasses a few hours before bedtime, and I take my supplements about an hour before. Another two things I use at night that are not pictured in the Instagram post are Young Living’s Thyromin and EndoFlex. I use these to support my endocrine system, and I’m thinking of doing a separate post about them.

What do you enjoy doing at night to support your body and get restful sleep?

Leave a Reply

